1-5-101 - Official Holidays

1-5-101. Official holidays.

(a) The following days are declared to be the sole official holidays applicable to state government in Arkansas:

(1) New Year's Day -- January 1;

(2) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday and Robert E. Lee's Birthday -- the third Monday in January;

(3) George Washington's Birthday and Daisy Gatson Bates Day -- the third Monday in February;

(4) Memorial Day -- the last Monday in May;

(5) Independence Day -- July 4;

(6) Labor Day -- the first Monday in September;

(7) Veterans Day -- November 11;

(8) Thanksgiving Day -- the fourth Thursday in November;

(9) Christmas Eve -- December 24;

(10) Christmas Day -- December 25; and

(11) An employee's birthday -- an employee is granted one (1) holiday to observe his or her birthday.

(b) A holiday falling on a Saturday will be observed on the preceding Friday. A holiday falling on a Sunday will be observed on the succeeding Monday.

(c) It is the specific intent of the General Assembly that all state employees shall be entitled to eleven (11) paid holidays per year. The Office of Personnel Management of the Department of Finance and Administration shall promulgate rules and regulations to assure this legislative intent.